Evros
HellasThrace

Department of Evros

Alexandroupoli is the capital of the Evros prefecture. The Lighthouse is the distinctive mark of the town. It was built in 1880 and its Greece's highest lighthouse, its height is 27 meters.

The visitor of Alexandroupoli can admire the cultural and natural heritage of the area in the Historic - Cultural Museum, in the Ethnological Museum of Thrace, in the Ecclesiastical Museum and the Museum of Natural History in Maistro.

At Makri, apart from the beautiful beaches, people can visit the Cave of Cyclops Polifimos and at Dikella the archaeological site of Mesimvria - Zoni. The 20 kilometers long extensive coastline of Alexandroupoli - Dikella, offers numerous touristic substructure such as campings, hotels, restaurants, recreation areas and organized beaches.

On the way from Avanta to Aisimi visitors can admire the dominating presence of the Byzantine Fortress, and in the area of Potamos the Cave of Agion Theodoron with its magnificent frescoes.

In the Municipality of Traianoupoli, at the archaeological site of the Loutra village, remains the building "HANA". Next to it there are the hot springs which now operate in updated facilities. The information center of Evros Delta and the National Park's management body operate in the same area and provide their services to the visitors.

Evros Delta can be described as a live museum. More than 350 species of plants grow in the wider area of the wetland.

As far as the birds are concerned, 316 species of them are recorded in the area.

Finally in Feres, there is the Church of Panagia Cosmosotira, exact duplicate of Agia Sofia, which is the monument of Thrace and one of the most important monuments of Greece and the Balkans. In Feres one can visit the Folclore Museum of N. Gkotsi and can make the necessary arrangements to wonder at the Eastern Section of the Evros Delta through the Information Stand of Feres.

Soufli is the town of silk. The Silk Museum is housed in the magnificent Kourtidi mansion, which was built in 1885. It is a live museum that starts from the hatching of the seed, moves on to the bringing up of the silkworm, the production of silk, its development and goes up to the weaving and the excellent fine-stitch of "Tsevre".

Dadia forest is a unique experience for every visitor. It gathers 36 of the 39 species of birds of prey that can be found in Europe, and wild animals that tend to extinct. From the specially formed observatory, visitors can watch the birds of prey through field-glasses in their natural environment.

In the area of the Dadia Forest we can visit the Dadia monastery while in the area of Kornofolia the Monastery of Panagia Portaitisa.

In Filakto village, of the Municipality of Tichero, visitors can see the fossil forest, which is connected directly with the volcano action that took place in the area 25.000.000 years ago.

The lake of Tichero stands out, in the main town of the Municipality of Tichero, and is surrounded by updated and organized facilities, which are suitable for athletic and cultural activities.

Finally, from the Lefkimi village the visitor has access to the south side of the Dadia - Lefkimi - Soufli National Park.

Didimoticho is Europe's largest Byzantine town of the 8th-9th century. For several periods of time it was the capital of Byzantine.

It's worthwhile visiting the Castle, where moments of the Byzantine history are impressed, the Prison of Charles, it is said that King of Sweden Charles XII, was imprisoned there, the Agia Aikaterini and the Byzantine tombs.

The Cathedral of Agios Athanasios, at the south side of the Castle, was built in 1834 over a cluster of a monastery and part of a catacomb was detected under its floor.

In the town of Didimoticho, people can visit the Art Gallery, the Folklore Museum, the War Museum, the Temble, the Wispers Bath, the Caves and finally the Plotinoupoli.

Every village of Didimoticho has an exceptional feature. Its worth mentioning Metaxades, for the two-storied mansion masterpieces, Paliouri, Pithio, for its Byzantine castle and its wooden railway station which is one of the most beautiful stations in Greece.

Finally the mountains of Municipality of Orfeas are dominated by "Pomakous", which live in the area, organized in small villages, in perfect harmony with the natural surroundings. In the area of Orfeas its worth visiting the rock-inscriptions, the prehistoric tombs as well as the "Teke" in Rousa-Goniko.

Orestiada is named after Oresti the son of Agamemnona and Klitemnistra. Today's town of Orestiada is the capital of the Municipality of Orestiada and was built in 1923 after the abandonment of the old Orestiada to the Turks.

At the Folklore Museum the visitor can admire traditional costumes (embroidered with the two-headed eagle), male and female costumes (well-known for the harmony of their patterns), woven cloths, articles used in the local households, hand maid engraved articles and the first Holy Gospel in Turkish with Greek elements.

At Nea Vissa one can visit the traditional fabrication workshop of brooms, straw brooms, "sorgon - brooms". In Kastanies, on the banks of Ardas River, the Balkan Youth Festival is held every year in the last week of July. Large crowds from all over Greece visit the area to attend the cultural events.

In the Municipality of Kiprinos, after recent excavations, archaeological artifacts of tomb as well as five carriages of the roman era were discovered in Mikri Doxipara - Zoni.

Municipality of Trigono is the section of the Evros valley that lies between the rivers Ardas and Evros. Trigono consists of 17 villages, among which is Petrota with the old cylinder-mills, Ormenio, the northern entrance of Greece, while at Krios village tusks & parts of jaw-bone of a mastodon were found which were dated to be 5-3 million years old.